REAL ESTATE RISK

A comprehensive approach to risk management and tools for a modern automation of information processing of unstructured risk information.

REAL ESTATE RISK – STARTING POINT

Information condensed into structured data is the basis for all areas of risk management. In sub-areas - especially in new risk types - the information required for a meaningful valuation is not available in structured form and in some cases not even in electronic form. An integrated and portfolio-oriented valuation and comprehensive risk management for real estate portfolios are part of such a use case. The valuation of real estate is based on master and transaction data. Master data are, e.g. ,rental space, macro and micro location, number of floors or parking spaces.

Most common transaction data are the rental price per square meter and information about the current tenants of the property. The collection of this information is currently a laborious manual process that must be repeated annually. Often, relevant information is already available in the form of appraisals (possibly electronic documents). 

Real estate appraisals do not have a predefined structure. Instead, they depend on the individual appraiser. However, the information relevant for the valuation is the same in all appraisals. Automating the recording process is therefore an important building block for real estate risk management.

ifb’s approach

ifb has developed a four-stage approach for risk-adequate measurement of real estate exposure.

Phase 1 (portfolio view) serves to combine key figures on a portfolio basis. The advantages are the creation of transparency and an initial identification of concentration in the portfolio.

Phase 2 (value drivers) enables an extended value driver analysis. In this process, important value drivers are identified. With the completion of this phase, a clearer view of the interdependencies develops. 

Phase 3 (scenario analyses) analyzes the effects on other key figures of bank management. 

The fourth and final phase (model development) is aimed at quantitatively oriented institutions: A model is developed for calculating credit risk, taking into account correlation assumptions between LGD and PD or other modeling assumptions.

Major challenges

Knowledge and (unstructured) information on the individual properties are typically available in the credit risk management departments, but there is generally no consolidation of the various properties into a value-driver-oriented portfolio view.

Especially the influences of the global measures in the course of the Covid 19 pandemic show that individual user groups (residential, gastronomy, hotel, retail) systematically influence the real estate risk exposure in different locations.

OUR TOOLS TO HELP YOUR EMPLOYEES

The Real Estate - Document Desktop (RE-DD) is the starting point and the platform that accompanies you in the steps towards a comprehensive automation of the collection of relevant information from the real estate appraisals. A solid data basis is a prerequisite for all analyses and forecasts. Especially in times after COVID-19, control and management of emerging and possibly evolving risks and opportunities are indispensable.

book recommendation

What impact does digitalization have on financial and risk management?
A future-oriented insight and outlook for professionals and experts. Read more about real estate risk management on pages 177-192.
» order now

We provide support in the implementation and operation

  • Implementation approach
  • Tools for the operational implementation of NLP

Further reading::

 » RISIKO MANAGER 0I.2018 - Immobilienrisiken
 » RiskNET: A holistic approach to real estate risk management

Would you like to receive a meaningful offer?

Please call us to make an appointment for our free introductory workshop (also via web session).

Empfehlen

Immobilienrisiko 

Umfassendes Konzept zum Risikomanagement und Werkzeuge für eine zeitgemäße Automatisierung der Informationserfassung von unstrukturierten Risikoinformationen.

IMMOBILIENRISIKO – AUSGANGSLAGE UND MOTIVATION

Zu strukturierten Daten verdichtete Informationen sind die Grundlage für alle Bereiche des Risikomanagements. In Teilbereichen – insbesondere in neuen Risikoarten – liegen die für eine sinnvolle Bewertung notwendigen Informationen nicht in strukturierter und teilweise nicht einmal in elektronischer Form vor. Eine integrierte und portfolioorientiere Bewertung und ein umfassendes Risikomanagement von Immobilienbeständen sind Bestandteil eines solchen Use Cases. Die Bewertung von Immobilien erfolgt auf Basis von Stamm- und Bewegungsdaten. Stammdaten sind z.B. Mietfläche, Makro- und Mikrolage, Anzahl der Etagen oder der Stellplätze.

Die Bewegungsdaten sind der Mietzins pro Quadratmeter und Informationen über die aktuellen Mieter des Objektes. Die Erfassung dieser Informationen ist aktuell ein aufwendiger manueller Prozess, der jährlich zu wiederholen ist. Häufig liegen die relevanten Informationen bereits in Form von Gutachten (ggf. elektronische -Dokumente) vor. 

Immobiliengutachten haben keine vordefinierte feste Struktur, sie hängen von dem jeweiligen Gutachter ab. Die für die Bewertung relevanten Informationen sind aber in allen Gutachten gleich. Eine Automatisierung der Erfassung ist somit ein wichtiger Baustein für das Immobilienrisikomanagement.

Vorgehensmodell der ifb

Die ifb hat ein vierstufiges Vorgehensmodell zur risikoadäquaten Messung des Immobilienexposure.

Phase 1 (Portfoliosicht) dient der Zusammenführung der Kennzahlen auf Portfoliobasis. Vorteile sind Schaffung von Transparenz und eine erste Identifikation von Konzentrationen im Portfolio.

Phase 2 (Werttreiber) ermöglicht eine erweiterte Werttreiberanalyse. Dabei werden die wichtigen Werttreiber identifiziert. Mit Abschluss dieser Phase entwickelt sich eine klarere Sicht auf die Wirkungszusammenhänge. 

In der Phase 3 (Szenarioanalysen) werden die Auswirkungen auf die weiteren Kennzahlen der Gesamtbanksteuerung analysiert.

Die vierte und letzte Phase (Modellentwicklung) richtet sich an quantitativ orientierte Institute. Hier wird ein Modell für die Berechnung des Kreditrisikos unter Berücksichtigung von Korrelationsannahmen zwischen LGD und PD oder anderer Modellierungsannahmen entwickelt.

Wesentliche Herausforderungen

Kenntnis und (unstrukturierte) Informationen zu den einzelnen Objekten sind typischerweise in den Kreditrisikomanagement Abteilungen vorhanden.

Es fehlt jedoch in aller Regel eine Zusammenführung über die verschiedenen Objekte hin zu einer werttreiberorientierten Portfoliosicht.

Gerade die Einflüsse der weltweiten Maßnahmen im Zuge der Covid-19-Pandemie zeigen, dass einzelne Nutzergruppen (Wohnen, Gastronomie, Hotel, Einzelhandel) systematisch Einfluss auf das Immobilienrisikoexposure in unterschiedlichen Lagen haben.

Unsere Werkzeuge für die Entlastung Ihrer Mitarbeiter

Der Real Estate – Document Desktop (RE-DD) ist der Startpunkt und die Plattform, die Sie in den Schritten hin zu einer umfassenden Automatisierung der Erfassung der relevanten Informationen aus den Immobiliengutachten begleitet. Eine solide Datengrundlage ist Voraussetzung für alle Analysen und Prognosen. Gerade in Zeiten nach COVID-19 sind Steuerung und Management der sich abzeichnenden und möglicherweise weiterentwickelnden Risiken und Chancen unabdingbar.

Buchtipp

Welche Auswirkungen hat die Digitalisierung auf das Finanz- und Risikomanagement?
Ein zukunftsorientierter Ein- und Ausblick für Profis und Experten. Auf den Seiten 177-192 erfahren Sie mehr zum Thema Immobilienrisiko.
» jetzt bestellen

Wir bieten Unterstützung in der Umsetzung und dem operativen Betrieb

  • Umsetzungsvorgehen
  • Werkzeuge zur operativen Umsetzung von NLP

Fachliteratur:
 » RISIKO MANAGER 0I.2018 - Immobilienrisiken
 » RiskNET: A holistic approach to real estate risk management

Sie wünschen ein aussagekräftiges Angebot?

Sprechen Sie uns an und vereinbaren Sie mit uns einen Termin oder Workshop – gerne auch als Web-Meeting.

Empfehlen