PROJECTION INSTEAD OF PROVISIONING – RETHINKING CREDIT RISK

CREDIT RISK – WHERE WE STAND TODAY

In many respects, the year 2021 will bring about fundamental changes to the economy and society around the globe. This will also have an impact on risk management practice in credit institutions. Numerous topics that the CRO may have had on his long-term agenda until now (or even considered immaterial altogether) - especially the management of real estate, ESG, and generally non-financial risks - have suddenly come into his focus as they have materialized almost overnight. Primarily, of course, but not only, because of the global response to the SARS-COV-2 virus.

DEVELOPMENT OF THE RISK PROFILE 

Predicting the development of the risk profile (not to be confused with simply forecasting losses in the coming year) poses challenges for institutions, but means immense benefits for the strategy and management of the organization.

Proactive Management

Never before have banks had to make such far-reaching and irreversible decisions. The constantly changing world (VUCA) raises questions and demands reactions. The changes are continuous, but can also be disruptive. Taking credit risk is a long-term business and portfolios and their composition (and possibly concentrations) remain on banks' balance sheets for the long term, as cost-efficient transfer as well as hedging of credit risk is not feasible. Forward-looking management - anticipating the development of risk - helps to identify irreversible paths in the development and to consciously integrate them into the decision-making process.

Reviewing the Risk Strategy

The risk projection additionally enables a target vs. actual monitoring of planned risk development with the risk path that has occurred. In addition to the risk/return ratio, the review of and compliance with the risk strategy is one of the most important components in the bank's risk appetite framework. 

Challenges

New business in future periods plays an important role in establishing multi-period risk management. Business development scenarios must be considered together with scenarios for market data (currencies, interest rates, etc.) and credit risk parameters (ratings, migration matrices, loss given default and correlations). These are not independent of each other, which adds to the complexity. Risk models must be supplemented by the ability to calculate statements for future points in time, considering future portfolios and market data/parameters.

SOLUTIONS


Concept and feasibility

ifb has broad experience in the conceptual development of multi-period risk models and their prototypical implementation. Within the framework of preliminary and feasibility studies ("proof of concept"), the feasibility of the concepts developed individually with you is demonstrated. This enables a deeper and practice-oriented understanding of model mechanics.    


Implementation

The ifb Financial Navigator is a production-ready implementation of the projection of the risk situation. A wide variety of models can be implemented in Python or R, for example, and a wide variety of machine learning platforms can be integrated. 

Sample implementations already exist on several data and computing platforms. In addition, there is flexibility in the selection of the reporting platform for the implementation of dynamic dashboards.

We offer support forthe design as well as the implementation.

  • Design and prototypical implementation 
  • Production implementation

book recommendation

What impact does digitalization have on financial and risk management?

A future-oriented insight and outlook for professionals and experts. On pages 117-137, you can read more on Predictive Risk Management.
» order now

The FIRM Yearbook celebrates its anniversary

For the tenth time, we present topics from the world of risk management and from the FIRM network. In the current issue, you will find 18 specialist articles focusing on Covid-19 and its impact on risk culture, digitalization, cyber risks and sustainability.. »  Article

Would you like to receive a meaningful offer?

Please call us to make an appointment for our free introductory workshop (also via web session).

Call Back Service

Recommend

Vorschau statt Vorsorge -  Kreditrisiko neu gedacht  

Kreditrisiko – Ausgangslage und Motivation

Das Jahr 2021 wird in vielerlei Hinsicht weltweit grundlegende Veränderungen in Ökonomie und Gesellschaft mit sich bringen. Das kann auch am Risikomanagement von Kreditinstituten nicht spürlos vorüber gehen. Zahlreiche Themen, die der Risikovorstand bislang womöglich eher auf seiner langfristigen Agenda hatte (oder so-gar insgesamt für nicht materiell hielt) – insbesondere die Steuerung von Immobilien-, ESG- und ganz generell nicht-finanziellen Risiken – sind schlagartig in seinen Fokus geraten, da sie sich beinahe über Nacht materialisiert haben. Natürlich vor allem, aber nicht nur, wegen der weltweiten Reaktionen auf das SARS-COV-2 Virus.

Abschätzen der Entwicklung der Risikosituation 

Die Entwicklung der Risikosituation vorauszusehen (nicht zu verwechseln mit der reinen Prognose der Verluste im kommenden Jahr), stellt die Institute vor Herausforderungen, bedeutet aber immense Vorteile für Strategie und Steuerung des Unternehmens.

Vorausschauende Steuerung 

Niemals zuvor mussten Banken so weitreichende und unumkehrbare Entscheidungen treffen. Die sich ständig verändernde Welt (VUCA ) wirft Fragen auf und verlangt nach Reaktionen. Die Veränderungen sind kontinuier-lich, können aber auch disruptiv sein. Kreditrisiko ist ein langfristiges Geschäft und die Portfolios und ihre Zusammensetzung (und evtl. Konzentrati-on) verbleiben lange in den Bilanzen der Banken, da eine kosteneffiziente Übertragung ebenso wie die Absi-cherung von Kreditrisiken nicht möglich ist. Eine vorausschauende – die Risikoentwicklung antizipierende – Steuerung hilft, unumkehrbare Pfade in der Entwicklung zu identifizieren und bewusst in den Entscheidungs-prozess zu integrieren.

Überprüfung der Risikostrategie

Die Risikoprojektion ermöglicht zusätzlich eine Soll-/Ist-Überprüfung der geplanten Risikoentwicklung mit dem eingetretenen Risikopfad. Neben der Ertrags-Risiko-Relation ist die Überprüfung und Einhaltung der Risikostra-tegie eine der wichtigsten Komponenten im Rahmenwerk des Bankrisikoappetits (Risk Appetite Framework). 

Herausforderungen

Bei der Etablierung einer mehrperiodischen Risikosteuerung spielt das Neugeschäft in zukünftigen Perioden eine wichtige Rolle. Die Geschäftsentwicklungsszenarien sind zusammen mit Szenarien für Marktdaten (Wäh-rungen, Zinsen, etc.) und Kreditrisikoparametern (Ratings, Migrationsmatrizen, Loss Given Default und Korrela-tionen) zu betrachten. Dabei sind diese jeweils nicht unabhängig voneinander, was die Komplexität zusätzlich erhöht. Risikomodelle müssen ergänzt werden um die Eigenschaft, Aussagen für zukünftige Zeitpunkte zu berechnen unter Berücksichtigung von zukünftigen Portfolios und Marktdaten/Parametern.

Lösungen

Konzeption und Machbarkeit

ifb hat einen großen Erfahrungsschatz in der konzeptionellen Entwicklung von mehrperiodischen Risikomodellen und deren prototypischer Umsetzung. Im Rahmen von Vor- und Machbarkeitsstudien („Proof of Concept“) wird die Umsetzbarkeit der mit Ihnen individuell entwickelten Konzepte aufgezeigt. Dies ermöglicht ein tieferes und praxisorientiertes Verständnis der Modellmechanik.   

Umsetzung

Der ifb Financial Navigator ist eine produktionsfähige Implementierung der Projektion der Risikosituation. Die unterschiedlichsten Modelle können hierfür bspw. in Python oder R implementiert werden, und es können dabei verschiedenste Machine Learning Plattformen eingebunden werden . 
Beispiel-Implementierungen existieren bereits auf  mehreren Daten- und Berechungsplattformen . Zusätzlich existiert Flexibilität bei der Auswahl der Reportingplattform für die Umsetzung dynamischer Dashboards.

Wir bieten Unterstützung bei der Konzeption wie auch der Umsetzung.

  • Konzeption und prototypische Umsetzung 
  • Produktionsumsetzung

Buchtipp

Welche Auswirkungen hat die Digitalisierung auf das Finanz- und Risikomanagement?

Ein zukunftsorientierter Ein- und Ausblick für Profis und Experten. Auf den Seiten 117-137 erfahren sie mehr zum Thema Predictive Risk Management.
» jetzt bestellen

Das FIRM-Jahrbuch feiert Jubiläum

Zum zehnten Mal präsentieren wir Ihnen Themen aus der Welt des Risikomanagements und aus dem FIRM-Netzwerk. In der aktuellen Ausgabe finden Sie 18 Fachbeiträge rund um die Schwerpunkte Covid-19 und die Auswirkungen auf die Risikokultur, Digitalisierung, Cyberrisiken und Nachhaltigkeit. » zum Artikel

Sie wünschen ein aussagekräftiges Angebot?

Sprechen Sie uns an und vereinbaren Sie mit uns einen Termin oder Workshop – gerne auch als Web-Meeting.

Rückruf Service

Empfehlen